Undergraduate Finance & Economic Scholarship Awards



Finance and economics undergraduate students can apply and submit an essay for one of our three scholarships.


This scholarship award is open to all third-year undergraduate students currently enrolled in a finance or economics program at an Ontario university and is intended to reward students who’ve shown excellence in academics and extracurriculars. No prior knowledge or experience with the CFA designation is required.  Prize money can be used at the winners’ discretion.

First Place $3,000 CAD,   Second Place $2,000 CAD,   Third Place $1,000 CAD

In addition to receiving a monetary prize, winners will also be recognized at the CFA Society Toronto Annual Awards Reception, acknowledged in The Analyst publication, our website, and social media channels.


  • Must be enrolled in the third year of a finance or economics program at an Ontario university
  • Must have a minimum 3.0 GPA (or equivalent)
  • All submissions must be in English

Adjudication Criteria


All submitted materials will be adjudicated by a panel of relevant professionals selected by CFA Society Toronto. All materials will be adjudicated on the relevance of experience to finance and/or economics, clarity of communication, and ability to thoughtfully explain how the candidate's education, school/professional experience, volunteering, and other activities play a role in their current/future goals and career plans.

Submission Materials

All of these submission materials must be included to complete your online application:

  1. Application form (access form by clicking on 'Apply Now')

  2. Current résumé (upload in online application form)

  3. 500 word essay on why the applicant should be selected for this award (upload in online application form)

  4. Full unofficial transcript of the applicant’s first and second year grades (upload in online application form)

Finalists will be subject to a telephone interview with judging panel in January 2019

Finalists will also be required to submit their OFFICIAL transcript after their telephone interview

Information & Inquiries

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us at: or 416.366.5755 x225.

Please note, it is the applicant’s responsibility to ensure all application materials have been submitted by the deadline date. Incomplete applications will not be accepted. CFA Society Toronto reserves the right not to grant an award in a given year.

2019 1st Place Recipient: Mitchell Ho, University of Waterloo and Michael Thom, CFA,
CFA Society Toronto Board of Directors

Current & Past Winners

See Winners


2018-2019 application cycle closed!

Back to top arrow