CFA Society Toronto invites submissions for the 2018 Financial Journalism Awards – Deadline 15 January 2018

The financial journalism awards exist to acknowledge the contributions of Canadian based financial publications and journalists who show true commitment to high professional standards. Our goal is to identify and recognize the publications and journalists who have made the greatest journalistic contribution to improving transparency, strengthening investor education and supporting CFA Institute’s efforts to shape a trustworthy, forward thinking financial industry that better serves society.

There are three award categories and they are Publication of the Year, Journalist of the Year, and the Spirit of the Future of Finance. These award identify the publications and journalists whose work helps consumers and practitioners gain a better understanding of the investment profession. 

In order to win submissions need to be explanatory, relevant, easy to read and backed up by data and fact. Awards are presented at the Annual CFA Society Toronto Media Contact Directory launch.  


All publicly available daily print business titles produced within Ontario, with a minimum of four pages dedicated to business news and features and with a daily distribution rate over 45,000.  Canadian magazine and trade titles qualify on the condition of minimum bi-monthly publication, with a circulation over 5,000.


Qualifying publications will submit three articles from the past 12 months that best demonstrate their commitment to investor education, ethics and high professional standards.  All identifying traits of the publication and author will be removed and submitted for evaluation by a volunteer judging committee. Submissions will be graded on a scale of 10.  After the grading has been completed, scores will be collated and the publication with the highest combined score for their three submissions will be deemed the winner. The three top scoring journalists will move on to the second round of judging to determine the Journalist of the Year winner. 


The spirit of the future of finance award is awarded to the article that best embody’s characteristics of CFA Institute’s Future of Finance global initiate. The initiative focuses on opportunities for change with a goal to motivate and empower the world of finance to become an environment where investor interests come first, markets function at their best, and economies grow. Submissions will be graded on a scale of 10 by our volunteer judging committee. 



Submission Deadline 15 January 2018


Apply Now!

Please contact if you require application assistance or have any questions regarding the Financial Journalism Awards

2017 Financial Journalism Award Recipients 

Publication of the Year


Journalist of the Year

Dan Bortolotti

MoneySense Consulting Editor, investment advisor with PWL Captial

Spirit of the Future of Finance

Back to top arrow