CFA Society Toronto's Awards program promotes high quality research on pertinent issues affecting Canadian markets that will add to the industry's body of knowledge.

Current awards include:

CFA Society Toronto and Hillsdale Canadian Investment Research Award

Are you a leader in Canadian Investment Research? Here's your chance to be noticed. Participate in the CFA Society Toronto & Hillsdale Canadian Investment Research Award. One research award of $10,000 (CAD) will be given to the winner. 

Submissions for this award are now closed.

To view the 2017 award winning paper "Dominance of Hybrid Contratum Strategies over Momentum and Contrarian Strategies: Half a Century of Evidence" click on the Award Winner Alumni.

Fellowship Award

The Fellowship Award is given for doctoral dissertations in the fields of finance and economics. One award of $5,000 (CAD) will be given to the chosen winner along with an invitation to attend an award reception in Toronto.  In addition to receiving the monetary prize, the winner will also be acknowledged at the CFA Society Toronto Annual Awards Reception as well as in The Analyst

Submissions for this award are now closed.
Award Winner Alumni 

CFA Institute Research Challenge

The Challenge is an equity research competition among student teams from the world’s top university business and finance programs. Students write an equity research report on a publicly traded company, and present their findings to an expert panel. The teams are judged on their written reports and the presentations and a winner is selected. Throughout the competition, leading investment professionals volunteer as mentors and judges and teach these students best practices in equity research and corporate analysis.

For more information visit the Research Challenge section of our website.

Undergraduate Finance & Economics Scholarship Awards

Three scholarships: first place $3,000, second place $2,000, and third place $1,000 (CAD), are given to chosen candidates who are in their third year of finance and economic study and have a minimum 3.0 GPA (or equivalent) in their program. 

We are currently accepting submissions for these awards.

2017 Undergraduate Finance & Economic Scholarship Awards (PDF)

Award Winner Alumni 

Other Industry Awards

Access Scholarships

In collaboration with member societies around the world, CFA Institute awards needs-based scholarships to those unable to afford the full price of the CFA Program enrollment and registration fees.  CFA Institute will be accepting applications for the 2017 exam cycle until 15 September 2016. For application process and complete information on Access Scholarships please visit the CFA Institute's website.

Women's Scholarships

The Women's Scholarship Program offers additional opportunities for women who would not otherwise qualify for an existing CFA Institute Scholarship Program. This new program offers a limited number of CFA Program scholarships for the upcoming December 2016 and June 2017 exams. The required application is available here. For details on all of CFA Institute's scholarship offerings please visit their website

CPA Canada's Corporate Reporting Awards

Do you take pride in your corporate reporting? Are you looking to raise the bar even further? CPA Canada’s Corporate Reporting Awards is an opportunity to see how your organization stacks up with others that share your commitment to excellence. Both public-sector and private-sector companies are eligible to enter. Entrants receive written feedback from our panel of expert judges providing insights into best practices and ways to improve in all areas of corporate reporting.

Find out the two simple steps required to enter here.